The Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration and Development)

Prof OlaitanProf. Janet Olubukola OLAITAN
Email: ,

 Prof. Janet Olubukola Olaitan joined the services of Osun State University as one of the pioneer staff in 2007. She obtained her Bachelor of Science (Honours) degree (Microbiology) in 1992 from Lagos State University. She had her Master of Science and PhD in Microbiology from University of Ibadan in 1998 and 2005 respectively. Prof. Olaitan started her carrier as an Assistant lecturer at the University of Agriculture, Abeokuta (UNAAB) in 1999 and became Lecturer I in 2005.

She was appointed Senior Lecturer in 2009 at the Osun State University, Osogbo and rose to the rank of Professor of Public Health and Environmental Microbiology in 2015. She is a member of some learned and professional associations including Nigerian Association of Microbiology (NSM), American Association of Microbiology (ASM), Society For Applied Microbiology (SfAM, UK), American Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene (ASTMH), International Union of Microbiological Societies as well as West African Research and Innovation Management Association.

Prof. Olaitan has accumulated a wealth of experience in administration over the years. She was the pioneer Coordinator and Acting Head of Department of Biological Sciences of the University between 2008 and 2011. She served as the Acting Dean of Student Affairs between 2011 and 2013. She was the pioneer Acting Dean of Faculty of Basic and Applied Sciences in 2013 and Acting Provost of College of Sciences, Engineering and Technology in 2015/16. She was elected the Dean of Faculty of Basic and Applied Sciences and appointed the Provost of College of Sciences, Engineering and Technology in 2016. She served in these positions till her election as DVC(Admin) on 28th April 2017. She is the Congregational Representative on Uniosun Council.

She has several published academic papers in both Local and International Journals. She has been an external examiner to the Cape Peninsula University of Technology, South Africa and Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta. She is an editor UNIOSUN journal of Science and also a peer reviewer to Nigerian Journal of Science, Nigerian Journal of Microbiology, the Research Journal of Health Sciences and African Health Sciences. She had won Tetfund Research grant and Society for Applied Microbiology (SfAM) President’s Fund Grant. She is a PhD external examiner to universities within and outside Nigeria. She has also attended several scientific meetings and presented papers both at home and outside the country.

Get In Touch

For enquiries on admissions, please contact

  • Address: Room 228, Admission Office, 
    Administrative building, 
    Osun State University,
    Main Campus, Osogbo, Osun State.
  • Tel: 08107976419 (9am - 4pm WAT, Mon - Fri)
  • Email:
We use cookies to improve our website. By continuing to use this website, you are giving consent to cookies being used. More details…