9TH VIRTUAL CONVOCATION CEREMONY - Monday 21st September, 2020 - Wednesday, 09 September 2020
For Enquiries, Call: 08107976419 Mon - Fri 9am - 4pm - Friday, 01 May 2020



The Chairman of the Governing Council of Osun State University, Mallam Yusuf Ali has recently inaugurated the 2020 Advancement board of the University.

The inauguration which was made at a virtual Council meeting with the advancement board had the presence of all the governing council members and the advancement board members. It will be recalled that the advancement board led by Kayode Sofola, SAN was inaugurated in June 2016 and their tenure ended at the end of June 2020.

The chairman of the council, Malam Yusuf Ali commended the efforts of the Kayode Sofola, SAN led advancement board for their diligent service to the development of the Osun State University and their acceptance to serve another term.
“We have seen all your achievements in the last four years and I can say for a fact that we are happy to have a wonderful advancement board like this in UNIOSUN.”

“On behalf of the Visitor, the executive Governor of the State of Osun, Mr. Gboyega Oyetola, the Chancellor, Mrs. Folorunso Alakija and the Governing Council of this University, I hereby express my profound gratitude to all the members of the advancement board led by Mr. Kayode Sofola , SAN for a job well done. What you are currently doing, you are not only doing it for the University but you are doing it for the entire state which is making you create a good history.”

“Once again, as you are aware that the vision of the advancement board is to seek the support of individuals, private organizations, and if possible, Government to be able to support the University in achieving its mission.”
The chancellor is currently building a world-class teaching hospital for the University, we don’t want to disturb her again for any other thing like a residential house for the Doctors and other medical personnel, it is in view of this that we charge you with the responsibility of raising funds to achieve this and other tasks of the University to achieve its mission,” Mallam Ali added.

The chairman of the advancement board, Mr. Kayode Sofola while reacting on behalf of the board expressed his gratitude to the Chairman of Council, Mallam Yusuf Ali, the Chancellor, Mrs. Folorunso Alakija and the entire members of the Council for the believe and trust that they have in them.
“We accept to serve another tenure because we have a motivation that the University is moving to a greater height and we can see this through the award given to the Institution as the least corrupt state University in Nigeria, the construction of a world-class teaching hospital among other awards and recognition that the University is currently getting.
Although we know that the economy is not in the best shape for now but whatever the bad situation is we just have to be hopeful as education is most needed in the country particularly in the area of technology.
On behalf of the entire advancement team, I hereby pledge that we shall do our best to achieve the vision and mission of the advancement board,” Mr. Kayode Sofola added.

The other members of the Kayode Sofola, SAN led board are: Dr. Segun Aina, OFR, FCIB; Chief Atilade Adebowale; Sir Demola Aladekomo; Professor Wahab Egbewole, SAN; Professor Abeke Omotoso, Dr. Adunola Adepoju; Dr. Taofeek A. Owoseni; Mr. Sodiq Balogun; Professor Janet O. Olaitan, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Administration and Development); Mr. Gafar Shittu, Registrar; Mr. Bolarinwa Feruke, Bursar and Mr. Marcus Awobifa, Director, Advancement Office.

scroll back to top
  • Top University News

  • Latest Headlines

Connect With us on Facebook