For Enquiries, Call: 08107976419 Mon - Fri 9am - 4pm Deadline - Friday, 15 September 2017


Sports News IconIf everything goes as planned in the commitment of Professor Labode Popoola-led Administration to the development of sports in the University, Osun State University will host the next Nigerian University Games Association (NUGA) Zone "B" preliminaries in the year 2018.

The Acting Director of Sports in the University, Mr. P. A. Oluwafisoye made this known in his remark at the inauguration of the new Sports Committee held on Wednesday, 25th October, 2017 in the Vice-Chancellor's office, Main Campus, Osogbo.

Mr. Oluwafisoye disclosed that the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Labode Popoola has challenged the Sports Directorate of the University to work towards achieving this great feat for the University, adding that the Directorate is getting full support from the Management.

According to him, "UNIOSUN lost the bid for the last Pre-NUGA games to KWASU (which was established some years after UNIOSUN) largely for lack of facilities and huge cost. At the last Zone B meeting the next host falls on our university except if we wish to reject it."

The Vice-Chancellor, in his remark, reiterated commitment of his administration to the development of sports in the University. He said: "I have always been a sports person. I am an athlete myself. I played football in the past; I did high jump and ran long distance race. So, I love sports and will always be in support of sports development."

Professor Popoola however tasked the Directorate to open a sport development trust fund and reach out to individual sport lovers and corporate organizations to raise money for sport development. "In our collective efforts at developing sports, we must all be mindful of the financial challenges facing the University and the fact that UNIOSUN probably remains one of the poorest universities in the World.

"But I know that these days, you don’t have to use your money to develop sports. It depends on how you package yourself. There are many individuals and organizations that are willing to fund sport development. I challenge you to open a fund and we will support you on this," he said.

Members of the Committee, which was later inaugurated by the Vice-Chancellor include Mr. P.A. Oluwafisoye, Acting Director of Sports, Dr. B. O. Alabi, Representing Faculty of Agriculture; Dr. M. K. Kolawole, Representing Faculty of Basic and Applied Sciences; Dr. I. A. Okanlawon, Representing Faculty of Education; Mr. K. I. Adedokun, Representing Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences; Mr. O. O Ajao, Representing Faculty of Clinical Sciences; Mr. A. O. Alasi, Representing Faculty of Engineering & Technology; Mr. R. J. Komolafe, Representing Faculty of Law.

Others are Mr. E. F. Olukayode, Representing Faculty of Management Science; Dr. Gbenga Ajayi, Representing Faculty of Social Sciences; Mr. J. O. Olatundun, Representing Faculty of Humanities And culture; Mr. M. Akanbi, Representing Acting Director of Works; Mrs. B. A. Oluwasanmi, Representing Acting Dean, Student Affairs; Dr. O. Odeniyi, Acting Director, University Health Services; Mr. A. A. Adewuyi, Representing Central Administration and Mr. S. A. Ogunleye, Sports Secretary/Administrative Officer.


scroll back to top
  • Top University News

  • Latest Headlines

Connect With us on Facebook